Skip to content

It’s still the year of flapper fashion

Gucci Spring/Summer 2012

The 1920s is my favourite era for retro fashion so luckily for me the summer catwalk shows were full of flapper dresses – the best at Gucci and Etro. But with the new Great Gatsby film not being released until December, the trend will still be going strong in autumn/winter. What a perfect excuse to pick up a designer art deco, drop waisted dress in the sales this season – you’ll be able to wear it all the way through to the festive parties.

Incidentally when I went into the Etro store in the IFC mall to buy one, I was completely ignored by the three sales assistants standing around doing nothing – not even a stiff “Hello, welcome” which means nothing of the sort. So I left and bought it elsewhere. As Julia Roberts said in Pretty Woman, “Big mistake, girls!”

Etro Spring/Summer 2012

