Skip to content

Ooh La Alaia

Sticking with things Francaise, I am obsessed with Azzedine Alaia’s skater skirt dresses and have been for three seasons now. Ever since I spotted the king of bodycon’s pretty, flippy frocks for spring/summer 11 I’ve been fixated. Alaia seems to have an endless supply of to-die-for designs based around the one seductive theme – a stretchy bodice with a flirty flared skirt. And that’s the thing, round neck or v neck? Short or shorter hemline? Which version of the unique knit fabric? And that’s just the black dresses – I won’t even allow myself to look at the other colours. How can a girl (without the budget of Victoria Beckham or Kim Kardashian) possibly commit when an even more gorgeous one may be released next week? And more to the point, is it wrong to spend HK$20,000 on a dress?